Nita & Mukesh Ambani – Love Story


Nita Ambani ‘I rang the bell and a young man in a white shirt and black pants opened the door and said ‘Hi, I’m Mukesh’ I think I’ll never forget that. It just took me by surprise that he opened the door himself.

I first met him in November, he proposed me in December and I could not forget that incident, the signal had turned green and he refused to move until I answered to her proposal. The whole traffic behind us had come to a standstill. I was supposed to wait for a year to complete my education but we got married in March. Everything happened so quickly that we got married within three months on 8th March 1985”

Mukesh Ambani “I distinctly remember that innocence, I was struck by her unpretentious warmth and poise. She came across as very conservative, traditional yet contemporary in her thinking. She connected instantly with entire family and it was amazing to see how all of them were at ease with each other. We shared lot in common, which is largely because of our similar family upbringing and backgrounds.

Nita Ambani “I was touched by his warmth, genuineness, simplicity and humility which he still carries from that time. At our first meeting, more than anything else I felt very comfortable, as I know him better, I realized that behind the simplicity, there is a very quiet determination, an iron will and of course, a sharp mind.”

I had my children after eight years. I delivered prematurely in an emergency in America. Mukesh wasn’t there but he flew non-stop to be with us. I had suffered an internal hemorrhage and was in the hospital for a long time – and he looked after the babies and was there all the time. He is a hands-on dad.”

Mukesh Ambani “Nita’s biggest strengths are her dedication, perseverance and diligence. Most of all, her eye for detail and patience to go through the entire process repeatedly until perfected, is amazing. She is a stickler for discipline. There is a lot that I have learnt from her.”

Nita Ambani “My kids studied at Campion school, one day my younger son he was about 5 came to me asking for some more money, I give them Rs 5/- every Friday to spend in the canteen. I asked him ‘why do you want more money, Rs 5/- is not enough’? He replied “he wants to buy two somosas, all the other children in school used to tease him “Tu Ambani hai ya bhikari hai?” that really woke Mukesh up. But even today if the children have to spend money, they come and ask me.”

Our children have grown up seeing us and the importance we give to family values. They were lucky to have spent time with both, maternal and paternal grandparents, when they were growing up. We have also given them a lot of security by telling them that we are available to them anytime, for anything. We have always kept the doors of communication open with them.”

“We have allowed our children to grow with the freedom to pursue and realize their own potential and carve their own paths. Isha, who is studying in Yale, wants to contribute with me towards nation-building through the work we are adopting under the Reliance Foundation; and Akash, who is majoring in economics, is very much interested in the 4G services that we are going to be launching soon.

“As long as we are in Mumbai, we find the time. However late it is, we do not eat dinner without each other. If I’m late, he’ll wait and if he’s late, I’ll wait. So dinner time is always special. “We have built a temple at home is our favorite place and it is the soul of our house, this where both Mukesh and I together do our aarti every Sunday.”

Mukesh Ambani “Both of us have a mutual dream for nation-building and we contribute to society and the community, it is also creating a value for  stakeholders at Reliance.  Finally, we wake up every morning with some purpose in life. A common purpose, to make a difference to the world we live in,  has kept us together.”

For last 28 years, since that time in December 1984, when he proposed me, we have had a eyes for each other.  Togetherness has a fable-like quality to it, lasting as long as it has despite the unsparing glare that comes” –  Love Story of India’s wealthiest couple.

13 responses to “Nita & Mukesh Ambani – Love Story

  1. Yogesh Bahi…yeh kya Mukesh Ambani ko maska laga raha hai……ever write a love story of a poor chap or even a normal middle class ghatkopari? paisa wala gujju mil gay tho…all niceties??!!! kuch garibon ki suno..WOH tumhari sunega…tum ek word likho gay….yahan dus lakh comment aayengay! JAI HO SLUMDOGS OF MUMBAI!!!!!

  2. really awesome. i’m just doing a project on their lovestory. we are asked to write down a script, it really helped me.

  3. Reliance nation building,not possible,they won’t do,see 4000 crore home for 4 persons,Maharashtra rural area no water,they could have do with this money for rural people,nation building are fake claim

  4. have you written on tina and anil??. now, THAT is a story more of a Love Story. Nita and Mukesh seem more like an arranged marriage, given an interesting look – perfectly ‘cooked’ for press. nice PR. as long as suckers like us readers and a whole lot of them in press exist, this crorepati duo will keep doling out stories like this. some love story. hah!!! can see through the ‘through and through’ arranged marriage formula. “there is a girl giving a dance recital ….go see her…same caste, good family.. perfect for bahu… would be nice if you say yes and we will go ahead with the arrangements immediately. if it was love story and an unplanned event as she claims – what was the hurry???”. ha ha ha

  5. I am realy inspired by the Dhairubhai jee family.Specailly the contribution made by Mr,Dhairubhai
    ( father of Mr mukesh and Anil Ambani.) Their father work very hard and made a platform for them
    and their educated sons struggled hard to put their father buisness on the way to progress.and now they are the world no 1 industrialist .

Leave a comment