Neetu-Rishi Kapoor Love Story!!!


“I first said no, but he wooed me so much, with flowers, long letters and suitcases of gifts. I was swayed. When we dated, he took me for dinner and I didn’t know how to drink wine. He is actually a very difficult man; he was lucky he met me when I was so young because he molded me. I met him when I was 14, we dated when I was about 17 and I was married at 21. I was so naive. People used to call me his punching bag. If he yelled, ‘Neetu!’ I would leave my food and run. His family used to wonder what I was doing. Now I ask him to wait when he yells.

“Today I know my husband so well that with one look, I can guess what he’s asking, or who he’s talking to by the tone of his voice. There is honesty between us; no pretences and we trust each other.  I’m grateful to my husband for giving me such a wonderful life and children. Our marriage has had lots of ups and a few downs, but we worked at it and sailed through. We are both fighters and optimistic. I can’t do without my mother-in-law – it’s not to make him happy, but because I genuinely care for my in-laws.

“He was very keen to celebrate his 60th birthday in Kashmir. He has always been so nostalgic since he shot so many movies and songs there. When he visited Kashmir recently, he tried making arrangements for us to celebrate there but for some reason, it didn’t work out so he then thought of Dubai. When Ranbir said he was busy with Barfi! and could join us only for one night, he got upset. then Ranbir changed the plan to two nights and he was the happiest man. All of us staying at Hyatt and will celebrate his brithday at our favorite restaurant Zuma (the Japanese dining spot at Burj Khalifa). “I’ve told him not to expect anything – his biggest gift is me! I’ll give him a sweet card. But on his birthday, I’ll sing to him: Rama O Rama, ho gaya buddha, satiya gaya”

I hated him when I first met him. I couldn’t stand by him, he was the worst person! He criticized me all the time – he draw a eyeliner on my face all the time, he was brat. Yet, we became the best of friends because he used to cry on my shoulder when he had his affairs with all kinds of uppity women. Ultimately, he realized he loved me – a casual, simple person, who was comfortable sitting on the floor – my husband Rishi Kapoor…!!!

Leave a comment